Home Forums WoodMart support forum Child Theme question

Child Theme question

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

mjwilson
    Participant

Hello –

We are going to have someone install the child theme for Woodmart on two of our websites.

Since I have never worked with a child theme before, I was wondering “how” it worked?

Is the child theme just uploaded to a sub-directory of the site?

Does the child theme have to have the entire website duplicated on it?

I’m not quite sure all that needs to be done, in order for it to work?

Thanks for any info.

Mj

Artem Temos
    Keymaster

Hello,

The child theme allows you to overwrite some theme functionality and add your custom CSS and PHP code.
    You can read more information in the documentation
    https://codex.wordpress.org/Child_Themes
    https://www.elegantthemes.com/blog/resources/wordpress-child-theme-tutorial

Regards

mjwilson
    Participant

Hi –

I used a Child Theme Configurator that seems to have worked. Two questions though….

#1 – It didn’t copy over any of the style.css code that we changed. Should I just copy and paste that whole block of code, in to the Child Theme style.css code?

#2 – The Configurator is asking for this:

“Parent Templates

Copy PHP templates from the parent theme by selecting them here. The Configurator defines a template as a Theme PHP file having no PHP functions or classes. Other PHP files cannot be safely overridden by a child theme.

CAUTION: If your child theme is active, the child theme version of the file will be used instead of the parent immediately after it is copied.

The functions.php file is generated separately and cannot be copied here.”

There are a bunch of check boxes, for the .php files. Should they all be copied into the child theme?

I will go read the docs you supplied as well.

Thanks.

Mj

mjwilson
    Participant

Hello again –