Home Forums Basel support forum Theme upgrades on localhost

Theme upgrades on localhost

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

germanelx
    Participant

I’m new to WordPress and I don’t want to mess up. I would like to know what’s the safe way to update the Basel theme (At the moment I want to do this update on my localhost since the website is not yet online). I downloaded the latest zip file from Envato and uploaded it through Appearance > Themes > Add new > Upload Theme. I go to the Live Preview of this 1.6.2. version and I’m discouraged to see that most of the improvements I had made would not show any more. I’m sure that there is a way to keep them but when I search online to find a solution I only get a lot of useless advice on how to do this once the website is live, through a child theme, doing a backup before that…

Are there big differences between upgrading the theme on localhost and doing this on a live website? How is this done on localhost? (that’s what I’m interested at the moment)

Thanks!!!!

Artem Temos
    Keymaster

Hi,

First of all you must do all your changes using child theme because it is obvious that all your changes will be lost after replacing all theme files.

And there is no any difference between updating theme on localhost and live server. Just do this in the same way.

germanelx
    Participant

Hi again,

Creating the child theme manually is just way too complicated for me since I don’t have the required background. I could think otherwise if you gave me the right resources to be able to do it without breaking everything up.

Doing a bit of search has brought me to the Child Theme Configurator plugin though, which could hopefully save me a lot of headaches. Having said that, when I download this plugin and try to create the child theme I get this message:

https://s32.postimg.org/q6w40h75x/contact_theme_developer.png

The lines are these: